Configuration

Configuring Desktop Backup Software

This document will walk you through a more in-depth configuring of your backup software on your PC.  Should you have any problems or questions, please check our FAQs and other help pages, or contact us at support@bebackedup.co.uk

figure11_273x192

Opening the Control Panel

After installing the Desktop Software, you will see a new icon in the System Tray. Click on this and the Control Panel will be displayed, as shown. If you have purchased both Backup and the Briefcase options, then both tabs will be available. If only Backup, the Briefcase tab will not be available.
This Help file deals with the Backup tab only. The central area of the tab shows the current activity of the software – the number of file transfers that are scheduled to take place, and the progress of the current file being transferred.

Manage Backups

The Manage Backups button allows you to set up which folders on your PC are to be backed up, and optionally to exclude certain files, schedule a timed backup or force an immediate check of your system for files to be backed up.
This screen has two tabs – one called Folders, from where you set which folders or drives on your computer are to be backed up, and Settings, from where you can set up timed back ups and file exclusions.

Folders

Selection of folders is done through a screen similar to Windows File Explorer. Click to select and deselect the folders you wish to have included in your backup.
A green box indicates that within the folder there are other folders that are marked for backup. A green tick indicates the whole folder itself is marked.

Settings

Within the Settings tab there are a number of options available, as follows:

  • Scan Backup Folders Every Day – This option allows you to set up a timed backup in addition to, or instead of, the ongoing background backup. Tick the checkbox and set the desired time. This can be a very useful option if you are on a capped bandwidth connection that has ‘free’ hours where the bandwidth used doesn’t get counted against your monthly allocation.
  • Enable real-time scanning – this is the default setting for the software and the software will scan the selected folders regularly and backup any files that have changed.
  • Run Manual Scan Now – this forces a scan of the selected folders.
  • File type Exceptions – There may well be files that you don’t want to back up – such as log files, .tmp files, etc. This option allows you to set up a list of file types that will be excluded from a backup.
  • Show overlay of the icons of backed up files in Windows Explorer – if checked will put a small graphical icon on files that are being backed when the file folders are viewed in Windows Explorer.

Web Portal

The Web Portal is the main interface with your files on our servers. Clicking the Web Portal button will load your default Web Browser and display your home page on the server.

The web page can be split in to a number of areas:

  • Top right – Menu – Here you will see a tab-strip menu listing Home, Backup, Files Shared With You, Account Settings and Help.
  • Left Column – Account Summary – summary information about your account – space used, numbers of files and folders.
  • Left Column – Quick Links – useful information and resources, including the download for the Desktop Software.
  • Centre Column – Recently Updated Files – list of files recently updated on your system.
  • Centre Column – Recently Uploaded Files – list of files recently uploaded to your backup.

Backup

This tab is discussed at greater length in our Help page about restoring files. On opening this page you will see a list or icon for each computer that you have backed up using your account.
Clicking on the item will allow you to see what folders, and files within the folders, are in your backup. This screen also allows you to search through your backed up files. For further details, see the ‘Restoring files’ Help Page.

Files Shared with You

This page is discussed in greater detail in our ‘Sharing Files’ help page.

Settings

This page allows you to maintain your account details – user name, password and email address. Note that if you change your email address here, it will also change the email address with which you log in to your account.
Should you wish to change your password, that is also done from here. We suggest that you use a ‘strong’ password – one that contains upper and lower case letters, numbers and punctuation such as – and *. Don’t use words that may appear in the dictionary, your name or email address as your password.
You can also close your account from this screen.

Applications – the applications button allows you to see what applications are available on your account to view or edit your backed up files.

Computers – this option lists the computers that the software has been installed on.

Software Download – allows you to download the Desktop Software.

Status

This option allows you to see the status of the uploads from your computer to the server for Backup, and uploads and downloads for the Briefcase, if installed. In this Help page only the Backup options are discussed.

  • Left Hand Side – Upload – this displays the upload processes taking place.
  • Left Hand Side – Status – Lists history of events.
  • Clear Completed – Clears details of completed tasks from display.
  • Pause – this pauses the processing.
  • resume – this resumes paused processing.

When you’ve finished with the Status window close it by closing the window; there’s no distinct ‘Close’ button.

Close

This will close the Popup.